ElectionsIreland.org Home PageReturn to 2nd Dáil Index
Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster
 ElectionsIreland.org > Results > General Elections > Dáil Éireann > 2nd Dáil 1921

General Election of 24 May 1921


124 Sinn Féin candidates were returned unopposed from 26 geographic constituencies and the National University of Ireland. Dublin University returned four Independent Unionist candidates, also unopposed.

Results by Constituency

Elections to the Parliament of Northern Ireland were held on the same day. 52 members were returned from ten constituencies, all of which were contested. The only Sinn Féin candidate who was elected to the Northern Ireland Parliament without also being elected to a constituency in the 26 counties was Seán O'Mahony (Fermanagh and Tyrone), although he was admitted as a member of the 2nd Dáil.

None of the Sinn Féin candidates elected in the six counties took their seats in the Northern Ireland Parliament. Apart from Seán O'Mahony, they were Michael Collins (Armagh), Eamon de Valera (Down), Arthur Griffith and Seán Milroy (Fermanagh and Tyrone) and Eoin MacNeill (Londonderry).

©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 14-Jun-24 04:45 AM Twitter button logo IP Address: