ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Wicklow

X (Twitter):

Cill Mhantain
Wicklow Area (Leinster)

5 Seats 24 Candidates 19 Counts
Electorate: 95,339 Quota: 11,751
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Andrew Doyle2  Fine Gael Lozenge   10,035   14.23%   0.85   16      Made Quota       ♂
* Billy Timmins  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,165   13.00%   0.78   17      Made Quota       ♂
Simon Harris  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,726   12.38%   0.74   19      Elected       ♂
Anne Ferris  Labour Lozenge   5,436   7.71%   0.46   19      Elected     ♀  
Stephen Donnelly1  Non party/Independent Lozenge   6,530   9.26%   0.56   19      Elected       ♂

John Brady4  Sinn Féin Lozenge   7,089   10.06%   0.60   (19)      Not Elected       ♂
Pat Fitzgerald1  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,576   5.07%   0.30   (16)      Eliminated       ♂
Tom Fortune  Labour Lozenge   3,420   4.85%   0.29   (15)      Eliminated       ♂
Joe Behan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   4,197   5.95%   0.36   (14)      Eliminated       ♂
* Dick Roche1  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,891   5.52%   0.33   (13)      Eliminated       ♂
Conal Kavanagh  Labour Lozenge   3,231   4.58%   0.27   (12)      Eliminated       ♂
Peter Dempsey  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,409   2.00%   0.12   (11)      No expenses       ♂
Niall Byrne  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   1,026   1.46%   0.09   (11)      No expenses       ♂
Nicky Kelly  Non party/Independent Lozenge   518   0.73%   0.04   (10)      No expenses       ♂
Donal Kiernan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   403   0.57%   0.03   (10)      No expenses       ♂
Gerry Kinsella  Non party/Fis Nua Lozenge   324   0.46%   0.03   (9)      No expenses       ♂
Pat Kavanagh  Non party/Fis Nua Lozenge   291   0.41%   0.02   (8)      No expenses     ♀  
Eugene Finnegan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   286   0.41%   0.02   (7)      No expenses       ♂
Charlie Keddy  Non party/Independent Lozenge   233   0.33%   0.02   (6)      No expenses       ♂
Michael Mulvihill  Non party/Independent Lozenge   187   0.27%   0.02   (5)      No expenses       ♂
Anthony Fitzgerald  Non party/Independent Lozenge   184   0.26%   0.02   (4)      No expenses       ♂
Jim Tallon  Non party/Independent Lozenge   166   0.24%   0.01   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Thomas Clarke3  Non party/Independent Lozenge   103   0.15%   0.01   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Kevin Carroll  Non party/Independent Lozenge   74   0.10%   0.01   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 70,500 73.95%

Spoilt votes 811 1.14%

Total poll 71,311 74.80%

* outgoing TD (3)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,938
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 22 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Fine Gael emerges as the dominant party to take three seats’

There were no boundary change here since 2007 but with 24 candidates, the most in the country, this was always likely to be a long count. So it was, with demands for recounts protracting matters further. As well as the five candidates elected, the constituency can claim a sixth TD, as Pat Deering, the Fine Gael TD for Carlow–Kilkenny, lives in the area of east Carlow that, to the resentment of its inhabitants, makes up part of the Wicklow constituency.

Fine Gael emerged as the dominant party, winning close to 40 per cent of the votes and three of the five seats. In 2002 it had been down to 16 per cent and one seat, so this represented very impressive growth. Andrew Doyle, first elected in 2007, headed the poll, Billy Timmins was second home, and yet another case of good Fine Gael vote management meant that the youthful newcomer Simon Harris came in third.

Labour suffered from the retirement of former deputy leader Liz McManus. The party’s vote scarcely rose compared with 2007, and its three candidates made heavy weather of holding the seat in a constituency where in 2002, when the national conditions were much less favourable, it had come within 20 votes of taking two seats. Despite receiving fewer than half of running mate Tom Fortune’s transfers on the sixteenth count, Anne Ferris took the fourth seat quite securely.

Fianna Fail had won 2 seats in 2007, but one of these disappeared quite quickly when Joe Behan left the party in October 2008. He stood now as an independent but was never in the race. Fianna Fail ran two candidates, outgoing TD and junior minister Dick Roche being joined on the ticket by Councillor Pat Fitzgerald from Arklow. Although Roche led on first preferences, Fitzgerald overhauled him. The elimination on the fourteenth count of Roche, whose combative style as a politician was not to everyone’s liking, produced wild applause among supporters of other parties in the counting centre.

With only 11 per cent of the votes Fianna Fail was well short of a seat, and the fifth seat lay between Sinn Fein’s John Brady and independent Stephen Donnelly. Brady led on first preferences, but Donnelly, who used his media appearances impressively during the campaign, fared better on transfers and took the last seat by just over 100 votes.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Jul-24 11:40 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East