ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next Westminster By Election 2: 8 May 1956
Back Next Ulster Mid
County Constituency Ulster Area (Ulster)

1 Seat Electorate: 66,891 3 Candidates
Click on map to go to constituency
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Status 

George Forrest  Independent Unionist Lozenge   28,605   48.36%   Elected    1   ♂

Thomas Mitchell  Sinn Féin Lozenge   24,124   40.78%   Not Elected      ♂
Michael O'Neill2  Nationalist Lozenge   6,421   10.86%   Lost deposit      ♂

Total poll 59,150 88.43%

Majority  Independent Unionist 4,481 7.58%

Candidates: 0 female (♀), 3 male (♂)
By election caused by disqualification of Charles Beattie.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

The successful Sinn Fein candidates in Fermanagh & Tyrone South and Ulster Mid had both been imprisoned for their part in a raid on Omagh, and were therefore ineligible for election to the House of Commons. In Ulster Mid a new writ was issued for a by election that was held on 11 August 1955.

Following the by election, Mitchell was again disqualified on petition to the Northern Ireland High Court due to his imprisonment and on 7 October 1955 Beattie was declared elected in his place, although he didn't take his seat. On further petition to a House of Commons Select Committee, it was ruled on 7 February 1956 that Beattie was disqualifed for holding "offices of profit under the Crown" (membership of national insurance and national assistance tribunals), and a second writ was issued for a by election on 8 May 1956.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-Jun-24 01:36 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East