Previous Election - 1951 Home PageReturn to General Election index Next Election - 1959
Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster > Results > General Elections > Westminster > 1955

Elections to the United Kingdom Parliament held in Northern Ireland
General Election of Thursday 26 May 1955

Sir Winston Churchill resigned as UK Prime Minister on 5 April 1955 and Sir Anthony Eden was appointed in his place the following day. On 15 April the new Prime Minister announced that Parliament would be dissolved on 6 May with a General Election following on 26 May.


Changes since 1951


*The two Sinn Fein candidates elected had both been imprisoned for their part in a raid on Omagh, and were therefore ineligible for election to the House of Commons. In Fermanagh & Tyrone South the losing Unionist candidate was declared elected on 25 October 1955, but in Ulster Mid a new writ was issued for a by election that was held on 11 August 1955.

Following the Ulster Mid by election, Mitchell was again disqualified on petition to the Northern Ireland High Court due to his imprisonment and on 7 October 1955 Beattie was declared elected in his place, although he didn't take his seat. On further petition to a House of Commons Select Committee, it was ruled on 7 February 1956 that Beattie was disqualifed for holding "offices of profit under the Crown" (membership of national insurance and national assistance tribunals), and a second writ was issued for a by election on 8 May 1956.

By Elections

©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Jun-24 02:34 AM Twitter button logo IP Address:
Down South Down North Belfast South Armagh Fermanagh & Tyrone South Belfast West Ulster Mid Londonderry Antrim North Antrim South Belfast North Belfast East