Previous Election - 1979 Home PageReturn to General Election index Next Election - 1987
Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster > Results > General Elections > Westminster > 1983

Elections to the United Kingdom Parliament held in Northern Ireland
General Election of Thursday 9 June 1983


There were significant changes to all of the constituencies in Northern Ireland, as representation was increased from 12 to 17 seats to reflect the end of devolved government.

Changes since 1979
There were three by elections in Northern Ireland following the 1979 General Elections - two of them were in Fermanagh and Tyrone South. The thrid was in Belfast South.


By Elections

On 17 December 1985 all 15 of Northern Ireland's unionist MPs resigned in protest at the Anglo-Irish Agreement which had been signed at Hillsborough Castle on 15 November 1985 by British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher and the Taoiseach Garret Fitzgerald. (See the BBC Wars and Conflict website.) At the subsequent by elections, all the MPs stood for re-election and all were returned, except for James Nicholson in Newry & Armagh.

©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 24-Feb-24 01:48 AM Twitter button logo IP Address:
Antrim East Antrim North Antrim South Belfast East Belfast North Belfast South Belfast West Down North Down South Fermanagh & Tyrone South Foyle Lagan Valley Londonderry East Newry & Armagh Strangford Ulster Mid Upper Bann