ElectionsIreland.org Home Page2019 European graphic
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster
  ElectionsIreland.org > Results > European > 2019
2019 European Election


The last elected candidate in the Dublin and South constituencies will only take their seats if and when the United Kingdom leaves the European Union. For this reason, the votes of the last candidate who failed to be elected were redistributed in order to determine the final order of the elected candidates.

Twitter #ep19


Polling was on Friday 24 May 2019 from 7am to 10pm.


The European Parliament Constituency Committee issued a report in September 2018. This recommended Ireland's 13 seats should be divided between three constituencies - Dublin (4 seats), Midlands North West (4 seats) and South (5 seats).

Dublin: the counties of Dun Laoghaire Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin; the city of Dublin.

Midlands North West: the counties of Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Kildare, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath; the city of Galway.

South: the counties of Carlow, Clare, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Offaly, Tipperary, Wexford and Wicklow; the cities and counties of Limerick and Waterford; the city of Cork.

The main changes since 2014 are:

  • the total seats increase from 11 to 13
  • an additional seat for each of the Dublin and South constituencies
  • the transfer of counties Laois and Offaly to South from the Midlands North West

According to a Resolution of the European Parliament, if the UK holds elections to the European Parliament on 23 May 2019 and is still a member on 2 July 2019, only 11 MEPs will go to Brussels from Ireland. The last elected candidate in each of the Dublin and South constituencies will take their seats if and when the UK leaves.

These arrangements are contained in the European Parliament Elections (Amendment) Act.

Polling is on Thursday 23 May 2019

   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 28-Sep-23 04:40 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address: