ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Roscommon Leitrim South
Ros Comain Liatroim Theas
Sligo Area (Connaught)

3 Seats 10 Candidates 6 Counts
Electorate: 60,998 Quota: 11,877
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Luke Flanagan  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   8,925   18.79%   0.75   4      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Frank Feighan  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,983   18.91%   0.76   6      Made Quota     2   ♂
* Denis Naughten  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,320   19.62%   0.78   6      Made Quota     3   ♂

Ivan Connaughton  Fianna Fail Lozenge   4,070   8.57%   0.34   (6)      Not Elected       ♂
Martin Kenny  Sinn Féin Lozenge   4,637   9.76%   0.39   (5)      Eliminated       ♂
John Kelly8  Labour Lozenge   4,455   9.38%   0.38   (3)      Eliminated       ♂
John McDermott  Non party/Independent Lozenge   3,770   7.94%   0.32   (2)      Eliminated       ♂
Gerry Kilrane  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,033   6.38%   0.26   (1)      Eliminated       ♂
Garreth McDaid  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   220   0.46%   0.02   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Seán Kearns  Non party/Independent Lozenge   91   0.19%   0.01   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 47,504 77.88%

Spoilt votes 531 1.11%

Total poll 48,035 78.75%

* outgoing TD (2)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,970
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 10 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
10 October 2014  caused by election as MEP of Luke Flanagan on 10 October 2014

‘Independent Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan wins seat at Fianna Fáil’s expense’

This constituency was created before the 2007 general election and it was formed from the Roscommon part of the old Longford-Roscommon constituency and the southern portion of County Leitrim. There was also significant Constituency Commission changes here since 2007. A population of 3,376 in the area north of Carrick-on-Shannon was transferred from this constituency to Sligo-North Leitrim. The number of seats remained the same with three TDs returned.

The three leading candidates were well clear of the rest of the field and this constituency was virtually over as a contest following the declaration of the first count.

This was one of the few constituencies in which the Fine Gael vote was down on 2007, albeit by less than 1%. But with 1.5 quotas the party was well-placed to retain its two seats. Denis Naughten topped the poll with 9,320 first preferences and went on to take the third seat on the final count. His fellow outgoing deputy Frank Feighan was in second place on the first count and also went onto retain his seat on the final count.

The big surprise here was the performance of independent candidate Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, who ran on a ‘New Vision’ ticket. Flanagan was in third place on the first count, just behind the two outgoing Fine Gael deputies and he went on to take the first seat on the fourth count.

The Fianna Fáil vote was down 24 points and the party lost its single outgoing seat. Outgoing Minister of State, Michael Finneran retired and was replaced by Ivan Connaughton and Gerry Kilrane. Between them, they garnered just 0.6 quotas, or just 0.3 of a quota each, to leave the two of them well outside the frame on the first count and out of contention.

Former independent councillor John Kelly joined the Labour party for this election and increased the party vote by 8 points but with just 0.4 of a quota he was in fifth place on the first count and out of contention.

Sinn Fein will be disappointed with its performance here as its vote was up just one point on 2007 and with just 4,637 first preferences Martin Kenny was outside the frame on the first count with just 0.4 quotas and was too far off the pace to contend for a seat.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Jun-24 12:53 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East