ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Cork East


Corcaigh Thoir
Cork Area (Munster)

4 Seats 13 Candidates 7 Counts
Electorate: 83,651 Quota: 11,387
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Seán Sherlock  Labour Lozenge   11,862   20.84%   1.04   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
* David Stanton  Fine Gael Lozenge   10,019   17.60%   0.88   5      Made Quota     2   ♂
Tom Barry1  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,798   10.18%   0.51   7      Made Quota     3   ♂
Sandra McLellan  Sinn Féin Lozenge   6,292   11.05%   0.55   7      Elected     4 ♀  

Kevin O'Keeffe  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,024   8.82%   0.44   (7)      Not Elected       ♂
John Mulvihill1 Snr  Labour Lozenge   5,701   10.01%   0.50   (6)      Eliminated       ♂
Pa O'Driscoll2  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,030   8.83%   0.44   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
* Michael Ahern1  Fianna Fail Lozenge   4,618   8.11%   0.41   (3)      Eliminated       ♂
Paul O'Neill  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   1,056   1.85%   0.09   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Malachy Harty  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   635   1.12%   0.06   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Claire Cullinane  Non party/An Chomhdhail Phobail | People's Convention Lozenge   510   0.90%   0.04   (2)      No expenses     ♀  
Patrick Bullman  Non party/An Chomhdhail Phobail | People's Convention Lozenge   212   0.37%   0.02   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Paul Burke  Non party/Independent Lozenge   176   0.31%   0.02   (2)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 56,933 68.06%

Spoilt votes 526 0.92%

Total poll 57,459 68.69%

* outgoing TD (2)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,847
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 11 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Historic win for Sinn Féin as Fianna Fail fails to take a seat’

There was a significant boundary change in this constituency since the last election. It lost the areas of: Ballynaglogh, Glenville, Carrig, Watergrasshill, Kildinan, Ballynamona and Rahan. This meant that a population of 4,255 was transferred to Cork North Central.

Since Ned O’Keeffe joined the Fianna Fail ticket here in November 1982 this had been a bastion for the party, with O’Keeffe and Michael Ahern taking two of the four seats at every election up to 2007, albeit with just the occasional hint of a certain creative tension between the two of them. In 2011 this was yet another of the constituencies where Fianna Fail plunged from 2 seats to none. O’Keeffe senior retired and was succeeded on the ticket by his son Kevin, but many observers felt that Fianna Fail’s only hope of retaining one seat would have been to run just one candidate, and so it proved; Ahern was eliminated on the fourth count, and O’Keeffe finished 600 votes short of a seat.

Fine Gael was always going to win two seats; the only question was which of David Stanton’s two running mates would accompany him to Leinster House. This race was won by Mallow-based councillor Tom Barry, who had a lead of almost 1,000 votes over Pa O’Driscoll at the decisive stage.

That left two seats for the taking for Labour, if the party managed its votes properly. However, it spectacularly failed to do this, Seán Sherlock running over 6,000 ahead of his running mate, former TD John Mulvihill. If just 500 of Sherlock’s voters had switched to Cobh-based Mulvihill, Labour would have taken two seats here. Instead, Mulvihill was eliminated on the 7th count, and his transfers enabled Sinn Féin’s Sandra McLellan from Youghal to overhaul Kevin O’Keeffe and win Sinn Féin’s first seat in this constituency, becoming the only opposition TD in Cork East.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 19-May-24 03:26 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East