ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Clare

X (Twitter):

An Clar
Clare Area (Munster)

4 Seats 16 Candidates 12 Counts
Electorate: 82,745 Quota: 11,584
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Pat Breen  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,855   17.02%   0.85   11      Made Quota     1   ♂
Michael McNamara  Labour Lozenge   8,572   14.80%   0.74   11      Made Quota     2   ♂
* Joe Carey  Fine Gael Lozenge   7,840   13.54%   0.68   12      Made Quota     3   ♂
* Timmy Dooley  Fianna Fail Lozenge   6,789   11.72%   0.59   12      Elected     4   ♂

James Breen1  Non party/Independent Lozenge   6,491   11.21%   0.56   (12)      Not Elected       ♂
Tony Mulcahy  Fine Gael Lozenge   6,829   11.79%   0.59   (10)      Eliminated       ♂
John Hillery  Fianna Fail Lozenge   6,015   10.39%   0.52   (9)      Eliminated       ♂
Brian Markham  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,543   2.66%   0.13   (8)      No expenses       ♂
Brian Meaney  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   1,154   1.99%   0.10   (7)      No expenses       ♂
Jim Connolly  Non party/Independent Lozenge   978   1.69%   0.08   (6)      No expenses       ♂
Madeline McAleer  Non party/Independent Lozenge   428   0.74%   0.04   (5)      No expenses     ♀  
Ann Cronin  Non party/Independent Lozenge   419   0.72%   0.04   (5)      No expenses     ♀  
Gerry Walshe  Non party/Independent Lozenge   328   0.57%   0.03   (4)      No expenses       ♂
Sarah Ferrigan  Non party/Independent Lozenge   252   0.44%   0.02   (3)      No expenses     ♀  
J J McCabe  Non party/Independent Lozenge   248   0.43%   0.02   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Patrick Brassil  Non party/Independent Lozenge   175   0.30%   0.02   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 57,916 69.99%

Spoilt votes 579 0.99%

Total poll 58,495 70.69%

* outgoing TD (3)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,897
Candidates: 3 female (♀), 13 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Fine Gael becomes the biggest party in Clare for the first time’

There were no changes to the boundaries here since 2007.

With more than twice as many votes as anyone else Fine Gael became the biggest party in Clare. Its incumbents Pat Breen and Joe Carey were re-elected without a bother, though Carey may be a little concerned by the strong vote of the third Fine Gael candidate, Tony Mulcahy.

Since the foundation of the state this had been a Fianna Fail stronghold, represented by Éamon de Valera for over forty years. With the retirement of former minister Tony Killeen, Timmy Dooley seemed to have a clear run, but when Dr John Hillery, son of former president (and Clare TD) Patrick Hillery, emerged as the second Fianna Fail candidate, it became apparent that while Fianna Fail seemed certain of one seat, it might not be Dooley. The battle between the two of them was intense, but Dooley had a 600-vote lead on the ninth count, after which Hillery was eliminated.

Favourite for the remaining seat was independent James Breen, who had been a TD here between 2002 and 2007. While he increased his vote slightly over 2007, it was obvious from the first count that he would not be returning to Leinster House.

Instead, this seat was taken by new Labour candidate, farmer and barrister, Michael McNamara. Since Patrick Hogan, who subsequently became Ceann Comhairle, won a seat here in 1951, Labour had only once taken a seat, through Dr Moosajee Bhamjee in 1992, and having won 1.6% of the votes in 2007 it could hardly have had Clare high on its target list. However, McNamara had gained valuable exposure through his 2009 European Parliament campaign, when he had won over 12,000 votes, many in Clare, as an Independent, and he increased the Labour vote share more than nine-fold to sail into the second seat.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 23-Jun-24 12:35 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East