ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Tipperary South
Tiobraid Arann Theas
Tipperary Area (Munster)

3 Seats 8 Candidates 5 Counts
Electorate: 57,420 Quota: 10,341
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Seamus Healy  United Left Alliance Lozenge   8,818   21.32%   0.85   3      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Tom Hayes  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,896   21.51%   0.86   4      Made Quota     2   ♂
* Mattie McGrath  Non party/Independent Lozenge   6,074   14.69%   0.59   5      Elected     3   ♂

Michael Murphy9  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,402   13.06%   0.52   (5)      Not Elected     ♀  
* Dr Martin Mansergh  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,419   13.10%   0.52   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
§ Phil Prendergast  Labour Lozenge   4,525   10.94%   0.44   (2)      Eliminated     ♀  
Michael Browne2  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,860   4.50%   0.18   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Paul McNally  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   367   0.89%   0.04   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 41,361 72.03%

Spoilt votes 432 1.03%

Total poll 41,793 72.78%

* outgoing TD (3)
§ outgoing Senator
Final votes required for expenses: 2,586
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 6 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Former Fianna Fail TD wins seat after shedding party colours’

There were no boundary changes to this three-seat constituency since 2007. Indeed Fianna Fail’s achievement that year when it took two of the three seats, ousting left-wing independent Séamus Healy, was one of the surprises of that election. In 2011 Healy, who was now part of the United Left Alliance, was certain to regain his seat, and Fine Gael incumbent Tom Hayes was equally certain to retain his.

That left just one seat between four credible contenders: Fianna Fail junior minister Martin Mansergh, Labour senator Phil Prendergast, Fine Gael’s second candidate Michael Murphy, and Mattie McGrath. McGrath had been elected for Fianna Fail in 2007, but had rapidly acquired maverick status, and in June 2010 he lost the party whip, becoming an independent TD, for voting against the government bill banning stag-hunting. At the end of January 2011 he left Fianna Fail itself and announced that he would be standing as an independent.

Martin Mansergh, whose PhD thesis was on the history of 18th century France on the eve of the Revolution, may have sensed the upheaval that was about to happen, though his assertion on RTE radio on election count day that this was ‘not a wipe-out’ for Fianna Fáil had a ring of the Marie Antoinette about it. Sure enough, as the tumbrils left the counting centre and rolled through the streets of Clonmel, it was Dr Mansergh’s Dáil career that they bore away.

Mansergh’s elimination on the final count took Mattie McGrath comfortably into the third seat. Michael Murphy did better than predicted and finished runner-up, but Labour’s performance was disappointing, its vote up only 2 per cent on 2007 compared with the national swing of 9 per cent. For Phil Prendergast, though, there was significant consolation: the European Parliament seat that Labour won in the South constituency in 2009 came to her, as a result of the election of MEP Alan Kelly in Tipperary North.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Jul-24 11:48 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East