ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Louth

X (Twitter):

Louth Area (Leinster)

5 Seats 17 Candidates 13 Counts
Electorate: 99,530 Quota: 13,864
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Seamus Kirk  Ceann Comhairle (Speaker) Lozenge   Returned automatically   1          1   ♂
Gerry Adams  Sinn Féin Lozenge   15,072   21.74%   1.09   1      Made Quota     2   ♂
* Fergus O'Dowd  Fine Gael Lozenge   13,980   20.17%   1.01   1      Made Quota     3   ♂
Gerald Nash  Labour Lozenge   8,718   12.58%   0.63   12      Made Quota     4   ♂
Peter Fitzpatrick1  Fine Gael Lozenge   7,845   11.32%   0.57   13      Elected     5   ♂

James Carroll2  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,681   8.20%   0.41   (13)      Not Elected       ♂
Mary Moran  Labour Lozenge   4,546   6.56%   0.33   (11)      Eliminated     ♀  
Declan Breathnach  Fianna Fail Lozenge   5,177   7.47%   0.37   (10)      Eliminated       ♂
§ Mark Dearey  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   3,244   4.68%   0.23   (9)      Eliminated       ♂
Thomas Clare  Non Party/New Vision Lozenge   2,233   3.22%   0.16   (8)      No expenses       ♂
Fred Matthews  Non party/Independent Lozenge   957   1.38%   0.07   (7)      No expenses       ♂
Frank Godfrey  Non party/Independent Lozenge   649   0.94%   0.05   (7)      No expenses       ♂
Robin Wilson  Non party/Independent Lozenge   536   0.77%   0.04   (6)      No expenses       ♂
Luke Martin  Non party/Independent Lozenge   224   0.32%   0.02   (5)      No expenses       ♂
Gerry Crilly  Non party/Independent Lozenge   222   0.32%   0.02   (5)      No expenses       ♂
David Bradley  Non party/Independent Lozenge   174   0.25%   0.01   (4)      No expenses       ♂
Robert Glynn  Non party/Independent Lozenge   61   0.09%   0.00   (2)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 69,319 69.65%

Spoilt votes 871 1.24%

Total poll 70,190 70.52%

* outgoing TD (1)
§ outgoing Senator
Final votes required for expenses: 3,467
Candidates: 1 female (♀), 16 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Gerry Adams tops the poll and Fianna Fáil draw another blank’

There were major Constituency Commission changes here since the 2007 election. The number of seats was increased from four to five, and the boundaries of the constituency was expanded to include a population of 17,333 transferring in from the areas of St Mary’s and Julianstown, previously in Meath East.

Seamus Kirk was automatically returned as the outgoing Ceann Comhairle, meaning only four of the five seats were contested in the election.

Fine Gael came close to winning a second seat here in 2007 but Mairead McGuinness failed to deliver. The party’s vote was up just two points in one of its poorer performances of this election but with 1.6 quotas they were in contention for two seats. Fergus O’Dowd was Fine Gael’s leading vote getter and was over the quota on the first count. His running mate, Louth Gaelic football manager Peter Fitzpatrick was in fourth place on the first count with a more modest 7,845 first preferences and he battled with Fianna Fáil for the final seat. Fitzpatrick’s first count lead was sufficient to withstand Carroll’s challenge.

The Labour vote was up 14 points and with one quota the party was well placed to regain the seat previously held by Michael Bell. Labour surprisingly ran two candidates and Gerald Nash was in third place on the first count with 8,718 and he went on to take the fourth seat on the penultimate count. Mary Moran was a late addition to the ticket and her 4,546 first preferences left her in seventh place on the first count but she was too far off the pace and was never in contention. Her transfers (57%) put Nash over the quota.

Outgoing TD Dermot Ahern was among the Fianna Fáil Ministers to retire ahead of this election. The Fianna Fáil vote was down a huge 26 points and with just 0.8 quotas spread over its two candidates the party struggled to retain even one seat. Outgoing Senator James Carroll was its leading candidate with 5,681 first preferences but this left him outside the frame on the first count with just 0.4 of a quota. Likewise his running mate Declan Breathnach with 5,177 and 0.4 of a quota was also outside the frame and out of contention. This was another case of Fianna Fáil running too many candidates, dividing their depressed vote and failing to win a seat.

There was much media attention on this constituency following the arrival of Sinn Fein President Gerry Adams. Outgoing Sinn Fein deputy Arthur Morgan retired and Adams decided to enter southern politics. Adams topped the poll with the third largest number of first preferences (15,072) in this election, behind Enda Kenny (17,472) and Shane Ross (17,075). He was over the quota in the first count for an impressive performance with the Sinn Fein vote up 7 points on 2007.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Jul-24 12:15 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East