ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Dublin South West


Baile Atha Cliath Thiar Theas
Dublin Area (Leinster)

4 Seats 10 Candidates 8 Counts
Electorate: 70,613 Quota: 9,393
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Pat Rabbitte  Labour Lozenge   12,867   27.40%   1.37   1      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Brian Hayes  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,366   19.94%   1.00   2      Made Quota     2   ♂
Seán Crowe  Sinn Féin Lozenge   8,064   17.17%   0.86   6      Made Quota     3   ♂
Eamonn Maloney  Labour Lozenge   4,165   8.87%   0.44   8      Made Quota     4   ♂

Cait Keane  Fine Gael Lozenge   3,678   7.83%   0.39   (8)      Not Elected     ♀  
* Charlie O'Connor  Fianna Fail Lozenge   2,718   5.79%   0.29   (7)      Eliminated       ♂
Mick Murphy5  Socialist Lozenge   2,462   5.24%   0.26   (5)      Eliminated       ♂
* Conor Lenihan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   2,341   4.98%   0.25   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
Ray Kelly  Non party/Independent Lozenge   823   1.75%   0.09   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Francis Duffy  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   480   1.02%   0.05   (3)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 46,964 66.51%

Spoilt votes 511 1.08%

Total poll 47,475 67.23%

* outgoing TD (4)
Final votes required for expenses: 2,349
Candidates: 1 female (♀), 9 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
10 October 2014  caused by election as MEP of Brian Hayes on 10 October 2014

‘Labour gets its biggest vote share since 1969’

There were no boundary changes to this four seat constituency since 2007.

With Fianna Fail on the ropes nationally, this always looked like a constituency in which the party could lose both its seats, and so it proved. Even so, the scale of the slump was astonishing. Its two TDs had each won about 8,000 first preferences in 2007; now, neither even won as many as 3,000. The rivalry between them was intense. Conor Lenihan ended up nearly 400 votes behind Charlie O’Connor, whose 2,718 first preferences was probably less than the number of times he managed to work the word ‘Tallaght’ into media interviews.

Three of the four seats here were nailed down from the start. Former Labour leader Pat Rabbitte received nearly 13,000 first preferences, more than any other Labour candidate in the country. For Fine Gael, Brian Hayes easily retained the seat he had regained in 2007. In 2007 the defeat of Seán Crowe of Sinn Fein had been one of the most surprising results; he had lost his seat despite having been 1–20 with the bookies on polling day to retain it. In 2011, he comfortably took the third seat.

The only uncertainty was whether the fourth and final seat would go to Fine Gael or to Labour. The first preference distribution answered this: Labour took 4,000 votes more than Fine Gael, with Dublin South-West becoming its strongest constituency in the country. Labour took 36 per cent of the votes, the most it has won in any constituency since 1969. Its second candidate, Eamonn Maloney, finished over 3,000 votes ahead of the Fine Gael runner-up Cáit Keane. Labour may not have won a seat in Donegal since 1927 but, in Maloney and Michael Conaghan (Dublin South-Central), it does have two Donegal men in the Dáil.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 24-Feb-24 04:06 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Dun Laoghaire Dublin South East Dublin South Dublin South West Dublin Mid West Dublin South Central Dublin Central Dublin North Central Dublin West Dublin North West Dublin North East Dublin North Kildare North Meath Wicklow