ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Dublin South East
Baile Atha Cliath Thoir Theas
Dublin Area (Leinster)

4 Seats 16 Candidates 10 Counts
Electorate: 58,217 Quota: 6,984
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Ruairi Quinn  Labour Lozenge   5,407   15.48%   0.77   6      Made Quota     1   ♂
* Lucinda Creighton  Fine Gael Lozenge   6,619   18.96%   0.95   6      Made Quota     2 ♀  
Eoghan Murphy  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,783   16.56%   0.83   9      Made Quota     3   ♂
Kevin Humphreys  Labour Lozenge   3,450   9.88%   0.49   10      Elected     4   ♂

* Chris Andrews  Fianna Fail Lozenge   3,922   11.23%   0.56   (10)      Not Elected       ♂
Paul Sommerville  Non party/Independent Lozenge   2,343   6.71%   0.34   (7)      Eliminated       ♂
* John Gormley2  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   2,370   6.79%   0.34   (5)      Eliminated       ♂
Dylan Haskins  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,383   3.96%   0.20   (4)      Eliminated       ♂
Ruadhan MacAodhain  Sinn Féin Lozenge   1,272   3.64%   0.18   (3)      No expenses       ♂
Mannix Flynn  Non party/Independent Lozenge   1,248   3.57%   0.18   (2)      No expenses       ♂
Annette Mooney  People Before Profit Alliance Lozenge   629   1.80%   0.09   (1)      No expenses     ♀  
Hugh Sheehy  Non party/Independent Lozenge   195   0.56%   0.03   (1)      No expenses       ♂
James Coyle3  Non party/Independent Lozenge   164   0.47%   0.02   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Noel Watson  Non party/Independent Lozenge   89   0.25%   0.01   (1)      No expenses       ♂
John Keigher  Non party/Independent Lozenge   27   0.08%   0.00   (1)      No expenses       ♂
Peadar O Ceallaigh  Non party/Fis Nua Lozenge   18   0.05%   0.00   (1)      No expenses       ♂

Total valid 34,919 59.98%

Spoilt votes 327 0.93%

Total poll 35,246 60.54%

* outgoing TD (4)
Final votes required for expenses: 1,747
Candidates: 2 female (♀), 14 male (♂)
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘Fine Gael and Labour share the four seats’

There were no Constituency Commission boundary changes here since 2007 and it remained a four-seat constituency.

This was another good performance by Fine Gael as its vote was up 17 points and with 1.8 quotas the party comfortably took two seats. Outgoing deputy Lucinda Creighton topped the poll with 6,619 first preferences and was close to the quota on the first count. She went on to take the second seat on the sixth count. She was followed home by Eoghan Murphy who was in second place with 5,783 on the first count and he went on to take the third seat.

The Labour vote was up nine points and the party managed to convert just 1.3 quotas into two seats at the expense of Fianna Fáil. Ruairi Quinn took the first seat with 5,407 first preferences. Kevin Humphreys had a much tougher battle as he was outside the frame on the first count with half a quota and trailed Chris Andrews by 472 votes. But he won the transfer battle, in particular from independent Sommerville and went on to extend his lead over the Fianna Fáil candidate, taking the final seat by over 1,200 votes.

This constituency was another disappointment for Fianna Fáil with its vote down 17.5 points to just 11%, one of the party’s lowest in this election. Outgoing deputy Chris Andrews was in the frame in fourth place on the first count, ahead of Humphreys but was beaten by the Labour man on every count except one and Andrews duly lost his seat on the tenth and final count.

This was another poor performance by the Greens with John Gormley’s vote down 7 points to just 7%. His vote halved to leave him in seventh place on the first count and he was never in contention.

Eight independents contested this area with Paul Sommerville and Dylan Haskins the only ones to get enough votes to reclaim their expenses. The business candidate Sommerville had a good media profile going into this election but it was not enough to put him in contention for a seat. One of the independents Peadar Ó Ceallaigh got just 18 first preferences, the lowest by any of the 566 candidates that contested this election and the second lowest on record, behind Maria McCool who got 13 first preferences in Dublin North West in 1997.

The turnout was up seven points to 60.54% in this constituency but it still had the lowest turnout in this election as it had in 2007.

   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 28-May-24 08:27 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Dun Laoghaire Dublin South East Dublin South Dublin South West Dublin Mid West Dublin South Central Dublin Central Dublin North Central Dublin West Dublin North West Dublin North East Dublin North Kildare North Meath Wicklow