ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Baile Atha Cliath Theas Lar
Back Next Dublin South Central


Dublin Area (Leinster)

5 Seats 18 Candidates 13 Counts
Electorate: 80,203 Quota: 8,488
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

* Eric Byrne  Labour Lozenge   8,357   16.41%   0.98   8      Made Quota     1
* Catherine Byrne2  Fine Gael Lozenge   5,604   11.00%   0.66   12      Made Quota     2
Michael Conaghan  Labour Lozenge   5,492   10.78%   0.65   13      Made Quota     3
Joan Collins  People Before Profit Alliance Lozenge   6,574   12.91%   0.77   13      Elected     4
* Aengus O Snodaigh  Sinn Féin Lozenge   6,804   13.36%   0.80   13      Elected     5

* Michael Mulcahy  Fianna Fail Lozenge   4,837   9.50%   0.57   (13)      Not Elected    
Colm Brophy  Fine Gael Lozenge   3,376   6.63%   0.40   (11)      Eliminated    
Henry Upton  Labour Lozenge   4,183   8.21%   0.49   (10)      Eliminated    
Ruairi McGinley  Fine Gael Lozenge   2,976   5.84%   0.35   (8)      Eliminated    
Oisin O hAlmhain  Green/Comhaontas Glas Lozenge   1,015   1.99%   0.12   (7)      No expenses    
Peter O'Neill  Non party/Independent Lozenge   456   0.90%   0.05   (7)      No expenses    
Neville Bradley  Non party/Independent Lozenge   323   0.63%   0.04   (7)      No expenses    
Colm Callanan  Comhar Criostai/Christian Solidarity Lozenge   239   0.47%   0.03   (6)      No expenses    
Seán Connolly Farrell  Non party/Independent Lozenge   178   0.35%   0.02   (5)      No expenses    
Paul King  Non party/Independent Lozenge   146   0.29%   0.02   (4)      No expenses    
Gerry Kelly3  Non party/Independent Lozenge   137   0.27%   0.02   (3)      No expenses    
Noel Bennett  Non party/Independent Lozenge   128   0.25%   0.02   (2)      No expenses    
Dominic Mooney  Non party/Independent Lozenge   102   0.20%   0.01   (1)      No expenses    

Total valid 50,927 63.50%

Spoilt votes 817 1.58%

Total poll 51,744 64.52%

* outgoing TD
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings

‘The left sweep the board to take 4 out of 5 seats’

There were no constituency boundary changes here since 2007.

In the People’s Republic of Dublin South-Central the left virtually swept the board, taking four of the five seats. Labour took pole position with 35 per cent of the votes, its second best performance in the country, and two of its three candidates were elected. The main surprise was that Henry Upton, nephew and son of the two previous Labour incumbents, was the one to lose out, being outpolled by former TD Eric Byrne and by the new TD, though veteran councillor, Michael Conaghan. Byrne, who had missed out on a seat by 5 votes in 1992 and by 69 votes in 2007, headed the poll this time.

Sinn Fein’s Aengus Ó Snodaigh was comfortably re-elected to a third term, and the other left-wing seat was taken by Joan Collins of People before Profit, part of the United Left Alliance. She virtually trebled her 2007 vote, and while her TV cameo berating Bertie Ahern outside Leinster House no doubt helped her profile, she was probably on course for a seat anyway.

The Fine Gael vote rose by 9 per cent, but this was enough only to retain the seat it already held through Catherine Byrne (the only former professional footballer in the Dáil), with neither of her running mates coming close.

Most striking, perhaps, was the failure of Fianna Fail, represented now just by Michael Mulcahy following the retirement of Seán Ardagh, to win a seat in this former stronghold. With Seán Lemass leading its team, the party won 55 per cent of the votes here in 1951; now, it could not win even 10 per cent.

   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-May-19 07:49 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Dun Laoghaire Dublin South East Dublin South Dublin South West Dublin Mid West Dublin South Central Dublin Central Dublin North Central Dublin West Dublin North West Dublin North East Dublin North Kildare North Meath Wicklow