ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election 90: 14 April 1970
Back Next Longford Westmeath

X (Twitter):

An Longfort An Lar Mhi
Longford Westmeath Area (Leinster)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 2 Counts
Electorate: 45,956 Quota: 17,278
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Paddy M Cooney1  Fine Gael Lozenge   16,146   46.73%   0.93   2      Elected (awaiting update)     1   ♂

Se├ín Keegan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   15,228   44.07%   0.88   (2)      awaiting update       ♂
Jack Coleman2  Labour Lozenge   3,180   9.20%   0.18   (1)      Lost Deposit       ♂

Total poll 34,554 75.19%

Final votes required for expenses: 4,320
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 3 male (♂)
By election caused by death on 11 March 1970 of Patrick Lenihan.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 18-Jul-24 11:15 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East