ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next By Election: 7 December 1966
Back Next Kerry South


Ciarrai Theas
Kerry Area (Munster)

1 Seat 3 Candidates 2 Counts
Electorate: 35,832 Quota: 13,612
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

John O'Leary2  Fianna Fail Lozenge   12,499   45.91%   0.92   2      Elected (awaiting update)     1   ♂

Michael Begley1  Fine Gael Lozenge   9,875   36.27%   0.73   (2)      awaiting update       ♂
Michael Moynihan1  Labour Lozenge   4,849   17.81%   0.36   (1)      Eliminated       ♂

Total poll 27,223 75.97%

Final votes required for expenses: 3,404
Candidates: 0 female (♀), 3 male (♂)
By election caused by death on 18 October 1966 of Honor Crowley.
The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
   ©1998-2023 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 29-Jan-23 01:18 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East