ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 5 March 1957
An Clar
Back Next Clare


Clare Area (Munster)

4 Seats 6 Candidates
Electorate: not available Quota: 9,024
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Patrick Hogan1  Ceann Comhairle (Speaker) Lozenge   Returned automatically   0          1
Eamon de Valera  Fianna Fail Lozenge   16,159   44.77%   1.79   0          2
Dr Paddy Hillery  Fianna Fail Lozenge   6,026   16.70%   0.67   0          4
Se├ín O'Grady1  Fianna Fail Lozenge   1,817   5.03%   0.20   0         
Bernard Lynch  Fine Gael Lozenge   3,115   8.63%   0.35   0         
William Murphy1  Fine Gael Lozenge   8,976   24.87%   0.99   0          3

Total poll 36,093

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
22 July 1959  caused by election as President of Eamon de Valera
   ©1998-2019 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 22-Jan-19 05:50 PM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East