ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 30 May 1951
Back Next Galway South
Galway Area (Connaught)

3 Seats 5 Candidates
Electorate: not available Quota: 8,009
 Candidate     Party     1st Pref   Share   Quota     Count   Status   Seat 

Frank Fahy  Ceann Comhairle (Speaker) Lozenge   Returned automatically   0          1
Patrick Cawley1  Fine Gael Lozenge   6,952   28.94%   0.87   0          2
Patrick Beegan  Fianna Fail Lozenge   7,367   30.67%   0.92   0          3

Robert Lahiffe  Fianna Fail Lozenge   6,268   26.09%   0.78   0         
Vincent P Shields  Clann na Poblachta Lozenge   3,437   14.31%   0.43   0         

Total poll 24,024

The data in the table above may be sorted by clicking on the column headings
By Elections:
21 August 1953  caused by death of Frank Fahy
   ©1998-2018 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 21-Nov-18 09:56 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address:
Cork East Kerry North Limerick West Clare Galway West Dublin Constituencies Cork South Central Cork South West Cork North Central Cork North West Kerry South Limerick East Galway East Waterford Wexford Tipperary South Tipperary North Carlow Kilkenny Laoighis Offaly Wicklow Kildare South Kildare North Meath Westmeath Longford Roscommon Louth Cavan Monaghan Sligo Leitrim Mayo Donegal South West Donegal North East