ElectionsIreland.org Logo
  Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
 Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster

previous next General Election: 25 February 2011
Back Next Cavan Monaghan


An Cabhan Muineachan
Cavan Monaghan Area (Ulster)

5 Seats 14 Candidates 9 Counts
Electorate: 99,178 Quota: 11,880
highlighted commentary button boundary button population button members button highlighted candidates button


‘Another major Fine Gael performance as they take three out of five seats for the first time’

There were no boundary changes here since 2007 and it remained a five-seat constituency.

This was another big performance in a five-seater from Fine Gael as they managed to convert 2.4 quotas into three seats. Their three leading candidates were grouped closely together on the first count with their fourth candidate Peter McVitty well off the pace in ninth place. Outgoing Senator Joe O’Reilly was the party’s leading vote getter and he was just ahead of newcomers Heather Humphreys and Sean Conlan. They went on to take the final three seats with Humphreys holding off Kathryn Reilly of Sinn Fein for the final seat. Their performance was enhanced by the fact that Fine Gael ran three new Dáil candidates, two of whom got elected, as long serving deputy Seymour Crawford had retired ahead of the election.

The Sinn Fein vote was up 6 points and with 1.6 quotas they were in contention for a second seat. Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin topped the poll and was just over the quota on the first count. His running mate Kathryn Reilly was outside the frame in sixth place on the first count and was eventually beaten by Fine Gael for the final seat by a margin of just 521 votes.

This was another poor performance by Fianna Fáil with their vote down 18 points on 2007 to just 20.15% and they lost two seats, leaving outgoing Minister Brendan Smith as their sole representative after this election. Margaret Conlon was outside the frame in seventh place on the first count with just 0.4 of a quota and was virtually out of contention. Outgoing veteran Fianna Fáil TD and former Cabinet minister Rory O’Hanlon retired ahead of the election.

Labour failed to perform here as they got just 6% and newcomer Liam Hogan was never in contention. Four non party candidates contested including New Vision’s John McGuirk but all failed to get enough votes to allow them to reclaim their expenses, as well as the Green’s Darcy Lonergan.

Click to see First Preference Votes Click for Count Details Click for Transfer Analysis Click for Party Details Click for biograhical details of candidates
   ©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 25-May-24 01:54 AM
Twitter button logo IP Address: