ElectionsIreland.org Home Page
Home | News | Boundary | People | Office | Links | Books
Elections: Town Council | County Council | Dáil | Seanad | President | Europe | Referendum | Westminster
 ElectionsIreland.org > Offices & Positions > Taoiseach
Cabinet Ministers
Foreign Affairs
Social Welfare
Rural & Gaeltacht Affairs
Arts, Sport & Tourism
Ceann Comhairle
Chief Whip
Attorney General
Party Leader
Ministers of State
Environmental Protection
EU Commissioners
Health & Consumer Affairs
Internal Market
28th Government (7 May 2008)
27th Government (14 June 2007)
26th Government (6 June 2002)

Chiltern Hundreds
Manor of Northstead
   All lozenge Fianna Fáil lozenge Fine Gael lozenge Labour Progressive Democrats Greens Sinn Féin

Fine Gael Taoiseach

18 February 1948 (1211)  Fine Gael   2  John A Costello (1)  Taoiseach
2 June 1954 (1022)  Fine Gael  John A Costello (2)  Taoiseach
14 March 1973 (1574)  Fine Gael   5  Liam Cosgrave  Taoiseach
30 June 1981 (252)  Fine Gael   7  Garret Fitzgerald (1)  Taoiseach
14 December 1982 (1547)  Fine Gael  Garret Fitzgerald (2)  Taoiseach
15 December 1994 (924)  Fine Gael   9  John Bruton  Taoiseach
9 March 2011 (2288)  Fine Gael   12  Enda Kenny  Taoiseach
14 June 2017 (2453)  Fine Gael   13  Leo Varadkar  Taoiseach

Number of days in office is shown in brackets where this can be calculated. This is a new feature, and the results may be variable due to insufficient data.

Cathal Brugha was acting President of the First Dáil, January-April 1919. Upon his release from prison, Eamon de Valera became President of the First Dáil, April 1919-August 1921 and President of the Second Dáil from August 1921-January 1922.

Michael Collins was Chairman of the Provisional Government which came into being after the Dáil ratified the Anglo-Irish Treaty in January 1922. W T Cosgrave became Chairman of the Provisional Government following the assassination of Michael Collins on 22 August 1922.

From December 1922 until 1937 the office of Prime Minister was known as President of the Executive Council. From December 1937 the position became known as Taoiseach.

©1998-2024 Christopher Took & Seán Donnelly
Your feedback on this web site is welcome
Web site designed and maintained by
Page generated 02-Mar-24 08:24 PM Twitter button logo IP Address: